June 6th, 2018

Meet the 2018 Genes in Space judges

Meet the panel of judges that will select the Genes in Space 2018 US winner. These accomplished scientists, educators, and technologists will identify the student team that will be sending their DNA experiment to space!

Luciana Molinero, Ph.D. is a scientist in the Oncology Biomarker Development Division at Genentech.

Vielca Anglin is a science teacher and academic advisor at City-As-School High School in New York. She is a Math for America Master Teacher.

Zeke Alvarez Saavedra, Ph.D. is the co-founder and inventor of miniPCR. He is a geneticist and molecular biologist trained at MIT.

Philip Schein, M.D. is a medical oncologist and a member of the Board of Directors, Center for the Advancement of Science in Space.

Nicole Nichols, Ph.D. is the Group Leader of DNA Polymerase Development at New England BioLabs.

Sarah Wallace, Ph.D. is a NASA microbiologist. She is part of the team that directed the first DNA sequencing experiment in space.