May 2nd, 2024

Announcing our 2024 Semifinalists!

The Genes in Space team has selected 28 talented student groups to continue as Semifinalists for their impressive proposals. The students are now tasked with a new challenge: crafting a 60-second video to explain their research to a general audience.

These videos, along with their written proposals, will be reviewed to determine the 10 Honorable Mentions and the 5 Finalists. The lucky finalists will vie for the ultimate prize: launching their experiment into space! Stay tuned for the announcement of our Junior Scientist Awardees tomorrow, and the Finalists and Honorable Mentions on Monday, May 20th!

We proudly present the 2024 Genes in Space Semifinalists:

  • Joyce Kwack (16) from Rancho Bernardo High School in San Diego, CA
  • Shria Lakshmikumar (17) from Centennial High School in Frisco, TX
  • Caleb Agyare (16) from Morris County School of Technology in Denville, NJ
  • Ananya Agrawal (15) and Abigail Wyrick (17) from Blue Valley West High School in Overland Park, KS
  • Mahir Hossain (17) from Stuyvesant High School in New York, NY
  • Luna Joo (16) and Kim Huynh (16) from Fairmont Preparatory Academy in Anaheim (CA)
  • Seonwoo Im (16) from Lambert High School in Suwanee, GA
  • Daniel Syed (15) and Minjun Kim (17) from International Academy Central in Bloomfield Hills, MI
  • Andrew Goodell (16) from Morris County School of Technology in Denville, NJ
  • Aarush Tutiki (16) and Dhruv Grandhe (17) from Albuquerque Academy in Albuquerque, NM
  • Elliana Mathews (16) and Raphael Aca (17) from Cherokee High School in Canton, GA
  • Elizabeth Ben (14) from The Pierrepont School in Westport, CT
  • Jared Lee (16) from Stuyvesant High School in New York, NY
  • Sean Lee (15) and Vedant Mehta (16) from Lambert High School in Suwanee, GA
  • Amy Sooraj (17) and Eva Russo (16) from The Bronx High School of Science in Bronx, NY
  • Carolina Grandía Soler (16) from Armand Hammer United World College of the American West in Montezuma, NM
  • Blake Brown (18) and Anisha Pandey (16) from Fort Worth Country Day School in Fort Worth, Texas
  • Sneha Goswami (17) from Lincoln Sudbury Regional High School in Sudbury, MA
  • Naveen Talla (16) and Priyanka Talla (14) from Horace Greeley High School in Chappaqua, NY
  • Tanvi Gawande (16) from Eastside High School in Gainesville, FL
  • Mark Ionis (16) from Stuyvesant High School in New York, NY
  • Logan Borneman (17) from Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology in Lawrenceville, GA
  • Megan Chiu (16) from Bryn Mawr School in Baltimore, MD
  • Jiya Rai (17) from Solon High School in Solon, OH
  • Yajur Chandar (16) from The Davidson Academy in Reno, NV
  • Fiona Samson (18) and Janhavi Tonge (18) from Troy High School in Troy, MI
  • Tsz Hang Ko (16) and Ronald Chen (17) from Stuyvesant High School in New York, NY
  • Isabelle Chuang (16) and Julia Gross (17) from The Nightingale-Bamford School in New York, NY

Congratulations! We are so excited to see these students' videos and hear them share their inspiring ideas in their own voices. Best of luck!

GiS 12 Sponsor Logos 2024.png